Skip to main content
The City of Dusk (The Dark Gods #1)

The City of Dusk (The Dark Gods #1)

Current price: $18.99
Publication Date: March 22nd, 2022
Publisher:
Orbit
ISBN:
9780316458894
Pages:
576
Chop Suey Books
2 on hand, as of Nov 30 5:34pm
On Our Shelves Now

Description

"Tara Sim's adult debut is a glorious tapestry of magic and murderous gods and a perfect entry for anyone looking for a new series starter." —BuzzFeed News

DARKNESS FALLS. GODS RISE.

The Four Realms—Life, Death, Light, and Darkness—all converge on the City of Dusk. For each realm there is a god, and for each god there is an heir.

But the gods have withdrawn their favor from the once vibrant and thriving metropolis. And without it, all the realms are dying.

Unwilling to stand by and watch the destruction, the four heirs—Angelica, an elementalist with her eyes set on the throne; Risha, a necromancer fighting to keep the peace; Nikolas, a soldier who struggles to see the light; and Taesia, a shadow-wielding rogue with a reckless heart—will become reluctant allies in the quest to save their city.

But their rebellion will cost them dearly. 

Set in a world of bone palaces and shadow magic, of vengeful gods and defiant chosen ones, The City of Dusk is Tara Sim's crackling adult fantasy debut.
 

About the Author

Tara Sim is the author of TheCity of Dusk (Orbit), as well as the Scavenge the Stars duology (Little, Brown) and the Timekeeper trilogy (Sky Pony Press). She can often be found in the wilds of the Bay Area, California. When she’s not writing about magic, murder, and mayhem, Tara spends her time drinking tea, wrangling cats, and lurking in bookstores.
 

Praise for The City of Dusk (The Dark Gods #1)

"Tara Sim's adult debut is a glorious tapestry of magic and murderous gods and a perfect entry for anyone looking for a new series starter."—BuzzFeed News

"Lovers of epic, dark fantasies, rejoice! There’s literally a lot here to love at 512 pages, including immersive writing that excellently builds this magical world, badass queer characters, and an interesting plot. Fans of A Darker Shade of Magic and All of Us Villains will want to pick this up sooner rather than later."—BookRiot

"Through its generous number of perspectives and gorgeous prose, Tara Sim proves herself again to be a talented worldbuilder and detailed storyteller."—Locus

"A delightful, complex, intimate yet explosive debut adult fantasy novel." —Strange Horizons

"Recommended for fans of large scale fantasy sagas with diverse, frequently queer protagonists." —Booklist

"Fantasy readers will appreciate Sim's attempt to create an expansive world in the vein of A Darker Shade of Magic or Gideon the Ninth....There's a lot to love here." —Kirkus

"A good fantasy, with a cracking ensemble cast and a wonderful world."—Grimdark Magazine

“Through its generous number of perspectives and gorgeous prose, Tara Sim proves herself again to be a talented worldbuilder and detailed storyteller.”—Locus