Skip to main content
We All Fall Down (The River City Duology #1)

We All Fall Down (The River City Duology #1)

Current price: $18.99
Publication Date: June 7th, 2022
Publisher:
Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
ISBN:
9780374314323
Pages:
416
Chop Suey Books
30 on hand, as of Nov 29 4:44pm
On Our Shelves Now

Description

The first book in a dark fantasy YA duology by Rose Szabo, the author of What Big Teeth, about the power and danger of stories and the untold costs of keeping magic alive, perfect for fans of Rory Power and Marie Rutkoski.

In River City, where magic used to thrive and is now fading, the witches who once ruled the city along with their powerful King have become all but obsolete. The city's crumbling government is now controlled primarily by the new university and teaching hospital, which has grown to take over half of the city.

Moving between the decaying Old City and the ruthless New, four young queer people struggle with the daily hazards of life—work, school, dodging ruthless cops and unscrupulous scientists—not realizing that they have been selected to play in an age-old drama that revives the flow of magic through their world. When a mysterious death rocks their fragile peace, the four are brought into each other's orbits as they uncover a deeper magical conspiracy.

Devastating, gorgeous, and utterly unique, We All Fall Down examines the complex network of pain created by power differentials, even between people who love each other—and how it is possible to be queer and turn out just fine.

About the Author

Rose Szabo is a nonbinary writer from Richmond, VA, where they live with an assortment of people and animals and teach writing at VCU. They have an MA in English from the University of Maine and an MFA in creative writing from VCU. Their work has been published in See the Elephant and Quaint magazines. What Big Teeth is their first novel.

Praise for We All Fall Down (The River City Duology #1)

“Unlike anything I’ve ever read. Szabo has given us a brutal and visceral world, filled with characters who shine the light in the darkest corners of our hearts. Glorious and achingly real, you won’t want to leave it behind.” —Heather Walter, author of Malice

We All Fall Down by Rose Szabo is a unique dark fantasy where science and magic coexist in an intricate game of cat and mouse. With a diverse cast of characters and prose that is equally gorgeous and haunting, We All Fall Down doesn’t shy away from exploring the dark underbelly of society, humans, and creatures alike.” —Aiden Thomas, two-time New York Times bestselling author of Cemetery Boys and Lost in the Never Woods

Praise for What Big Teeth:

A Strand YA Book of the Month

"With a layered mystery, a haunting setting, and thrilling tension, What Big Teeth has an otherness to it that pulls you in and forces you to keep reading." —Tricia Levenseller, Publisher’s Weekly-bestselling author of The Shadows Between Us

"Deliciously gothic and wonderfully creepy." —The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, STARRED REVIEW

"... one part haunting mystery, one part dark fantasy ... This darkly thrilling gothic fantasy will appeal to fans of Karen McManus and Maggie Stiefvater alike." —School Library Journal

"A tale so gorgeously twisty, it'll turn you inside out." —Tor.com

"Gazes into [the] darkness to face the monster that dwells within." —NPR Books

"A complete ghostly chill that deserves ten stars." —The Nerd Daily

"Has bite—and will leave you feeling dazed." — Forever YA

"A hauntingly thrilling read." —The Lineup

"A fascinating debut." —PopSugar

"[An] inventive concept." —Den of Geek

"Not your typical YA fantasy." —Culturess