Skip to main content
Date with Poison (The Dales Detective Series #4)

Date with Poison (The Dales Detective Series #4)

Current price: $15.99
Publication Date: June 1st, 2021
Publisher:
Pan
ISBN:
9781529006797
Pages:
400
Chop Suey Books
2 on hand, as of Jan 28 5:03pm
On Our Shelves Now

Description

Date with Poison is the brilliant fourth novel in Julia Chapman's Dales Detective Agency series, and is perfect for fans of M C Beaton's Agatha Raisin series and Gervase Phinn.

Spring is in the air in Bruncliffe but not everyone is filled with the joys of the season.

Samson O’Brien of the Dales Detective Agency is being questioned by the police about a murder, with the truth about his policing past about to be brutally exposed. And with Bruncliffe turning on Samson, his business partner Delilah Metcalfe finds herself in the impossible position of defending him to her friends and family.

Then Delilah’s nephew, accused of being under Samson’s influence, runs away from home and a frantic search begins. And with attention turning to Nathan, only a local vet is paying attention to a worrying spate of canine poisonings happening throughout the village.

Bruncliffe is turning toxic and with suspicion raining down on him, Samson knows he has to ask Delilah for help. Can she forgive his transgressions and help him so that they can find Nathan and the poisoner, or has the poison already spread too far?

About the Author

Julia Chapman is the pseudonym of Julia Stagg, writer of the Fogas Chronicles set in the French Pyrenees. Date with Poison is the fourth novel in the Dales Detective series, following on from Date with Mystery.

Praise for Date with Poison (The Dales Detective Series #4)

"[Chapman] delivers an engaging twist on the lonely­hearts killer motif. [Samson and Delilah's] developing friendship and suggestions of coming scandals in Bruncliffe should leave readers eager for the sequel."--Publishers Weekly on Date with Death

"An engaging cast of characters and a cleverly clued puzzle move Chapman's debut to the top of the English village murder list."--Kirkus Reviews on Date with Death

"An atmospheric traditional mystery with a vivid sense of place and spirited characters who drive the engaging plot."--Library Journal on Date with Death

"Mystery readers who love to escape to Louise Penny's village of Three Pines will enjoy becoming acquainted with the Dales town of Bruncliffe and its quirky residents. The ongoing suspenseful story line will keep series fans hooked."--Library Journal (starred) on Date with Malice

"Chapman vividly describes Yorkshire in winter. Cozy fans looking for good, clean fun will be satisfied."--Publishers Weekly on Date with Malice

"Well-drawn characters and a light tone make this English village mystery a particular pleasure."--Booklist on Date with Malice

"Chapman's second entry positions her well in the world of village-life detection, with just enough puzzle, just enough romance, and more than its share of wacky villagers."--Kirkus Reviews on Date with Malice